Starting July 1st, Connecticut enacted a new law in efforts to prevent drinking and driving and will have zero tolerance for first-time offenders. The new law will make all DUI offenders install a device that interlocks their ignition. Previously this device was only made mandatory for repeat offenders. First-time offenders are forced to have the device for 6 months. Any costs related to the device and installment, which could be up to $1,000 will need to be incurred by the driver. Over 320,000 of these devices are actively being used within the U.S.
Before this, any driver in CT that has been convicted of a DUI would get a license suspension ranging between 9 months and 3 years. With these new laws, drivers that are discovered violating drinking and driving laws will now have their licenses suspended for 45 days, and they will be required to have one of these devices installed into their vehicle.
The ignition interlock device is approximately the size of a TV remote and is installed into the dashboard. It’s wires connect to the car’s electrical system and engine. It prevents the car’s engine from starting when the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) level is above .025. The current legal BAC in CT is .08. For the past 5 years, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) have worked to get the law passed in the state of Connecticut.
Read more here.
If you have personally been injured in an accident involving drinking & driving call (203) 332-7700.